The Annual Research Review 2017 of the National Institute of Fundamental Studies held successfully

The Annual Research Review 2017 of the National Institute of Fundamental Studies was held successfully on 2nd April 2018 at the institute premises at Hanthana, Kandy under the patronage of Hon. Susil Premajayantha, Minister of Science, Technology and Research. The aim of this research review is to assess the progress of its scientific research activities carried out in the year 2017.

The keynote speech of Annual Research Review 2017 was delivered by Dr.Palitha Abeykoone, Chairman of National Authority on Tobacco & Alcohol and wo plenary lectures were delivered by Prof.M.P.Ranaweera, Emeritus Professor of University of Peradeniya and Prof.Ananda Jayawardane, Director General, National Science Foundation. After the inaugural session and a short video presentation 15 scientists who are project leaders of NIFS presented the progress of their respective research projects conducted during 2017 attended by external reviewers, invitees and NIFS scientists.

The activities, achievements and research publications of the NIFS scientist for the year 2017 were evaluated by a three-member expert panel, to select the Most Outstanding Scientists – 2017. Based on their evaluation, Prof.M.A.K.L.Dissanayake, Research Professor of NIFS was awarded the first place while Prof.U.L.B.Jayasinghe, Senior Research Professor, NIFS and Prof.D.S.A.Wijesundara, Research Professor of NIFS received 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

The Science Education & Dissemination Unit of NIFS has an Open Science Circle in electronic media (Vidu Nena Hauwla). Since its inception in 2012, 500,000 individuals have obtained the services. Amongst them, a science quiz competition is conducted on an annual basis with over 4500 registered participants. The winner of 1st place of Vidu Nena Hawula for the year 2016-2017 was Mr.H.M.M.I.S.B.Herath, while 2nd and 3rd places were won by Mr.A.M.I.U Kumara & Ms.V.M.Anjalika respectively.

The awards for most outstanding NIFS scientists and the medals for the winners of the Vidu Nena Hawula quiz competition were presented by Hon.Minister Susil Premjayantha.


Site Map


Contact Us



News & Events

Follow Us on Social Media